Celebrating our latest Ad Hominem Promotions

08 Nov 2023
Ad Hominem promotions
08 Nov 2023

Dear Staff and Student Colleagues 

I am constantly reminded how, in this ‘place of the stars’, all of us shine with different hues to make the constellation of our Faculty ever brighter. Each accomplishment in the Faculty brings a new radiance as another star is added to illuminate our way forward. Today we celebrate those who submitted themselves to the scrutiny of their peers and have been awarded promotions both academic and scientific and technical areas.

I am proud to announce the names of colleagues who have been promoted through the ad hominem process. Outstanding portfolios of evidence were presented showcasing performance in research, learning and teaching; excellent service in the technical domain which support our academic project; outstanding leadership and management; as well as social responsiveness. 

Please join me in congratulating the following colleagues on this milestone achievement in their careers:


Scientific and Technical Officers

  • Constance Schreuder - Senior Technical Officer
  • Shirees Benjamin - Senior Technical Officer
  • Supratim Biswas - Senior Scientific Officer

Chief Research Officer

  • Angelique Kany Kany - Chief Research Officer (with Associate Professor title)

Senior Lecturer

  • Candice Hendricks
  • Jaisubash Jayakumar
  • Jenique Bailly
  • Jennifer Githaiga
  • Kendall Brouard
  • Lunelle Pienaar
  • Lamees Ras
  • Mohammed Goolam

Senior Research Officer

  • Anna Happel
  • Gabriela Patten
  • Justin Shenje
  • Simon Mendelsohn

Senior Clinical Educator

  • Katherine Murray
  • Rabia Hassam

Merit Award

  • Jason Marcus
  • Rakiya Saidu


Promotion to Associate Professor

  • Adam Boutall
  • Blanche Cupido
  • David Thomson
  • Dale Rae
  • Galya Chinnery
  • Gideon Malherbe
  • Hlumani Ndlovu
  • James Nuttall
  • Janetta Harbron
  • Michal Harty
  • Natasha North
  • Nomonde Mbatani
  • Pamela Gretschel
  • Petrus Naude
  • Sayeed Mustak
  • Stephanie Krause
  • Tracey Adams
  • Willem Stassen
  • Zainab Mohamed

Full Professor

  • Darlene Lubbe
  • Helen Cox
  • Ian Ross
  • Jantina de Vries
  • Jonathan Peter
  • Joachim Wiesner
  • Mark Sonderup
  • Reto Guler
  • Victoria Gibbon

Excellence 2 Award

  • Professor Landon Myer
  • Professor Heather Zar

Congratulations to all and may your achievements inspire you to ever greater heights.

Kaise Gangans
Associate Professor Lionel Green-Thompson
Dean: Faculty of Health Sciences