Faculty Research Committee

The University requires each Faculty to have a Faculty Research Committee (FRC), which is chaired by the Faculty’s Deputy Dean for Research. The FRC has dual reporting responsibilities to the Faculty Board and to the University Research Committee. The main purpose of the FRC is to promote and facilitate research in the Faculty of Health Sciences in accordance with the Faculty’s research strategy, guiding research capacity development and advising on allocation of resources, and thereby contributing to the Faculty’s overall mission.


Prof Sharon Prince

(Deputy Dean Research)

Carlette Hlungwani

Research Intelligence Manager

Committee contact: research.health@uct.ac.za

A/Prof Alistair Hunter Radiation Medicine
Prof Bruce Biccard Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine
Dr Kristen Abrahams Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Prof Jo-Ann Passmore Pathology
A/Prof Maritz Laubscher Surgery
Prof Darrin Martin Integrative Biomedical Sciences
Dr Busayo Ige Health Sciences Education
A/Prof Nastassja Koen  Psychiatry and Mental Health
Dr Tammy Phillips Public Health
A/Prof Jonny Peter Medicine
Prof Dave le Roux Paediatrics and Child Health
A/Prof Janetta Harbron Human Biology
Dr Tracey Adams Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Dr Colleen Saunders Family, Community and Emergency Care (FaCE)
Prof Digby Warner IDM
Selisha Naidoo - DRC: Research Equipment IDM
Ex officio members
Dr Blessing Silaigwana Research Diligence Manager
Dr Charlotte Schutz Clinical Research Centre
A/Prof Suraj Parihar Faculty Biosafety Committee
Prof Graham Louw Animal Ethics Committee
A/Prof Lillian Artz SFARS representative
A/Prof Lionel Green-Thompson Dean: Health Sciences
Dr Linda Mtwisha Executive Director: Research Office
Prof Marc Blockman Human Research Ethics Committee
Salie Nassiep Research Management Accountant
Prof Jeff Murugan Acting DVC: Research Innovation
Dr Yolande Harley Director of Research
Zaida Sherry Faculty Finance Manager
Dr Zulfa Abrahams Research Development Manager
Dr Stuart More  Transformation Equity Committee
Heidi Starr FHS Manager: HR Business Partnering
Prof Jennifer Moodley Director: Cancer Research Initiative