Faculty Biosafety Committee (FBC)

The FBC is a Faculty-level committee for the review of all research that is potentially biohazardous to humans, animals or the environment. This includes but not limited to research involving the deliberate use of recombinant or synthetic DNA/RNA, pathogens and infectious agents, biological toxins, and other potential biological hazards.

The FBC reports to the FHS Deanery. The FBC also reports to the University’s Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC), a Senate-Level committee serviced by the Office of Research Integrity. The Chair of the FBC serves on the IBC, which is registered and accredited by the US National Institutes of Health and provides quarterly updates to the IBC of FBC activities.


A/Prof Suraj Parihar

Division of Medical Microbiology and CIDRI-Africa

A/Prof Suraj Parihar


Name Departmental Affiliation Role in Committee

Prof Robert Wilkinson

Department of Medicine and IDM Member

Ms Nzwakie Gxumisa

Health & Safety Manager (FHS Operations) Member

Dr Ros Chapman

Division of Virology, Dept. of Pathology Member

Dr Michele Tameris

SA Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI) Member

Dr Angelique Luabeya

SA Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI) Member

Dr Justin Shenje

SA Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI) Member

Ms Selisha Naidoo

IDM Health & Safety, Biosafety and Facilities Manager Member

Dr Mel Chengalroyen

Molecular Mycobacteriology Research Unit, IDM Member

Dr Melissa-Rose Abrahams

PATH: Division of Medical Virology Member

Dr Blessing Silaigwana

Faculty Research Office (Research Diligence Manager) Ex Officio

Ms Olivia Langenhoven

Research Diligence Office (Ethics & Compliance Manager) Secretariat