Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences


The Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences is based on the historic pre-clinical divisions of Medical Biochemistry and Computational Biology. It provides the foundation teaching and training in basic biochemical sciences and computational biology to undergraduate students in the Faculty, and will build capacity in scarce skills in South Africa including bioinformatics and large data analysis, as well as in integrative and multidisciplinary molecular sciences.

It has current strengths both in undergraduate teaching, as well post-graduate training and research; and a strong National and African footprint in capacity development, education and service.


The Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences comprises three divisions:

Chemical and Systems Biology bridges contemporary molecular medicine studies and the fields of biochemistry, chemical biology, synthetic biology and systems biology.

Computational Biology (CBIO) Division is the centre of Bioinformatics activities at the university. It aims to perform world-class bioinformatics research and provide high quality bioinformatics education, training and services.

Medical Biochemistry is a preclinical, basic science division within the department. The Division of Medical Biochemistry was established in 1978