The administrative headquarters of the School is based in the Institute of Child Health Building adjacent to the Children's Hospital and its operations are carried out at five campuses in greater Cape Town viz. Somerset Hospital, Groote Schuur Hospital, Mowbray Maternity Hospital, Red Cross Children's Hospital, most of which are clustered around the university. The headquarters is at Red Cross Children's Hospital which is one of very few institutions dedicated to children on the continent. Considerable activity takes place at Groote Schuur Hospital, Somerset Hospital, Mowbray Maternity Hospital and Victoria Hospital. Most of the neonatal work is located at the maternity sections of Groote Schuur, Mowbray Maternity and Somerset Hospitals. A significant amount of work is also done in clinics and other health care facilities in the Cape Metro, rural Western Cape and Eastern Cape.