There are a number of committees that function actively to promote the Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Research endeavours of the Department. The number of successful grant applications and research publications continue to grow in this dynamic environment.

DHRS consist of a total of approximately 93 permanent and contract staff members plus approximately 70 ad-hoc academic staff members which is led by the following Executive team:

Position Name
Head of Department Prof Roshan Galvaan
Chair of Postgraduate Education Dr Candice Hendricks
Chair of Research Dr Kristen Abrahams
Head of Division - (Nursing & Midwifery) Dr Tania de Villiers
Head of Division - (Communication Sciences & Disorders) Dr Lucretia Petersen
Head of Division - (Physiotherapy) Dr Shamila Manie
Head of Division - (Occupational Therapy) Associate Professor Pam Gretschel
Head of Division - (Disability Studies) Ms Sumaya Gabriels
Administration Manager Ms Dominica Arendse