Our Department is located in Groote Schuur Hospital, the main teaching hospital of the University of Cape Town. The hospital is situated on on the slopes of Table Mountain, just beyond the centre of the City of Cape Town, capital of the Western Cape Province of the Republic of South Africa.

The Department of Anaesthesia and Perioeprative Medicine services are provided to the teaching hospitals affiliated to the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University:

Groote Schuur Hospital, Observatory (principal teaching hospital)

  • Red Cross War Memorial Children's Hospital, Rondebosch
  • New Somerset Hospital, Green Point
  • Mowbray Maternity Hospital, Mowbray 
  • Valkenberg Psychiatric Hospital, Observatory
  • Maitland Cottage Hospital, Newlands (Paediatric orthopaedics)


We provide a wide range of mainly tertiary services including all major surgical disciplines. The Department provided anaesthesia for the world's first heart transplant and continues to have a strong interest in cardiac anaesthesia.

Red Cross War Memorial Hospital is the only dedicated children's hospital in Sub-Saharan Africa. Paediatric anaesthesia is provided for all major disciplines to children up to the age of 13, with special interests in cardiac surgery, liver transplants and the separation of conjoined twins. There is a busy burns unit and a multi-discipline Paediatric Intensive Care Unit.Anchor

The Department of Anaesthesia and the multi-disciplinary Department of Critical Care jointly manage, staff and support several Intensive Care Units: Respiratory, Surgical, Cardiothoracic ICUs as well as the Post-Anaesthetic High Care Unit.

The Centre for Pain Management manages patients with chronic pain and an acute pain service is available for postoperative patients. The Centre is multi-disciplinary, with specialist and allied health professional support.

The Department also houses the Nagin Parbhoo Museum which includes displays of anaesthesia equipment and related items dating back to the 1800's.