This award is the vice-chancellor’s annual prize in recognition of outstanding welfare-related research. It highlights UCT's strategic goal of promoting socially responsive research, and honours a UCT researcher whose outreach work has contributed to the advancement and welfare of South Africa’s disadvantaged people. The Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health has produced three award winners.

2013 - Prof Crick Lund (

2009 - Prof Dan Stein (

2005 - Prof Alan Flisher (

List of all awardees (