University of Cape Town Psychologist Elected to South African Young Academy of Sciences (SAYAS)

12 Oct 2016
12 Oct 2016

Eugene Lee Davids, a Postdoctoral Research Fellow from the Adolescent Health Research Unit (AHRU) in the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, is one of 10 young scientists from across South Africa to be elected a member of SAYAS in 2016.

Eugene has a first degree in Psychology from the University of Western Cape (UWC) and holds both a Masters and Doctoral degree in Child and Family Studies from UWC. He joined the Adolescent Health Research Unit at the University of Cape Town in 2016. Dr Davids has a particular research interest in parenting style – the natural style parents have – and the impact of parenting style on young people’s health decision-making. The theme of his research interest is of profound importance in a South African setting, where parenting, families and communities have been traumatized and fractured for a range of historical, economic and socio-political reasons. In addition, he has examined the concepts of goals and aspirations as well as basic psychological need satisfaction and frustration of young people, using Self-Determination Theory, a macro-theory of human motivation and development. Apart from election to SAYAS, Eugene received a Donald J Cohen Fellowship to attend the IACAPAP (International Association of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions) conference in Calgary, Canada in September 2016. He previously received Abe Bailey (2011), Mandela Rhodes (2012) and Erasmus Mundus Scholarships (2013). 

The South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS), was established in 2011 by Minister Derek Hanekom as a platform for young scientists to contribute towards the development of solutions in addressing the national and global challenges that we face as a society. SAYAS, closely linked to the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) and the Department of Science and Technology, inaugurated twenty leading young scientists as the Founding Members in 2011. The Academy has since elected 10 new members annually.

Prof Petrus de Vries, Director of the AHRU said “I have no doubt that Eugene has the potential to become a leading international academic. It is very exciting for us to see his wonderful achievements to date rewarded with election to SAYAS!”

For further information about the Adolescent Health Research Unit (AHRU), please see