The Departmental Research Committee (DRC) oversees research-related administration in the Department of Human Biology with all of its divisions. Responsibilities of the DRC include the following:

  • Review and authorisation of research proposals for grants and postgraduate student projects
  • Preparation of the annual departmental research report
  • Recording of research output

The DRC chair represents the Department of Human Biology on the Faculty Research Committee.

Getting Advice from the DRC

  • Please consult the information on the pages of this research administration section of the HUB web site.
  • Should the required information not be available, please contact the DRC representative of your division (see below).

Composition of the DRC

The Departmental Research Committee is constituted of representatives of each division in the department, and the Head of Department and the Directors of the core research facilities as ex officio member.

Name Portfolio Email Extension
A/Prof Janetta Harbron Chair & Division of Physiological Sciences 406 6769
Prof Thomas Franz Division of Biomedical Engineering 650 1795
Dr Dorit Hockman Division of Cell Biology 406 6461
Dr Adhil Bhagwandin Division of Clinical Anatomy and Biological Anthropology 406 6284
Ms Jody Eksteen Administrative Support 650 6235
A/Prof Delva Shamley (ex officio) Head of Department    
Stephen Jermy (ex officio) Biomedical Engineering Research Centre    
Stephen Jermy (ex officio) Cape Universities Body Imaging Centre    
A/Prof Dirk Lang (ex officio) Confocal and Light Microscope Imaging Facility    
Prof Vicki Lambert (ex officio) Health through Physical Activity, Lifestyle and Sport Research Centre