Departmental Postgraduate Education Committee (PEC) monitors postgraduate student academic progress, and reviews and informs HUB staff and students about UCT postgraduate teaching and learning policies and processes. The committee oversees transformation imperatives among postgraduate student cohorts and establishes lines of communication to address grievances of postgraduate students. The committee promotes and supports staff and student development and training by organising or disseminating information about PG teaching & research workshops, seminars, and conferences.

Composition of the Committee

The Departmental Postgraduate Education Committee (PEC) is constituted of:

  • Chair and Deputy Chair
  • One academic staff member from each Division in the department, familiar with divisional PG teaching and supervision activities and processes and nominated by the respective Head of Division.
  • One staff member with Student Wellness portfolio
  • One staff member from each division, elected by the students of the respective division.
  • Two postgraduate students from each division, elected by the students of the respective division
  • One administrative staff member familiar with the HUB postgraduate education determined by the HOD.
  • Head of the Department or delegated authority (Ex officio)

Core PEC

Name Portfolio Email Extension
A/Prof Jacolene Kroff Chair
650 5126
Dr Mubeen Goolam Deputy Chair, Division of Cell Biology
406 6591
Mrs Lisa Pio de Paulo Deputy Chair, Student Wellness
406 7031
Dr Lindie Du Plessis Division of Biomedical Engineering
650 3639
A/Prof Asfree Gwanyanya Division of Physiological Sciences
406 6400
A/Prof Jacqui Friedling Division of Clinical Anatomy and Biological Anthropology
404 7641
A/Prof Jeroen Swart Division of Physiological Sciences
650 4562
Ms Khalida Crawley Administrative support
404 7706
Prof Delva Shamley
(ex officio)
Head of Department

Additional Student-elected Members

Name Portfolio Email
Ashraf Vahed (student) Division of Biomedical Engineering
Leshego Ledwaba (student)  
Stephen Jermy (staff)  
Claire Bellis (student) Division of Cell Biology
Josh Selfe (student)  
A/Prof Joseph Raimondo (staff)  
Sadiyah Malek (student) Division of Clinical Anatomy and Biological Anthropology
A/Prof Jacqui Friedling (staff)  
Philippa Forshaw (student) Division of Physiological Sciences
Arron Correia (student)  
Iyanuoluwa Oyetunji (student)  
A/Prof Asfree Gwanyanya (staff)  
Dr Roopam Dey Postdoctoral Researchers