Bringing home the expertise to tackle TB

Associate Professor Suraj Parihar from UCT's Department of Pathology and member of the IDM, has been awarded an NIH Emerging Global Leader Award to build capacity in immune-metabolic and immune-genetic research.

Professor Anthony Figaji joins CIDRI-Africa

Tony joins us as a Principal Investigator. He holds several positions at UCT including Professor and Head of Paediatric Neurosurgery, Head of the African Brain Child research group, and SARChI Chair of Clinical Neurosciences.

Dr Alisha Chetty joins CIDRI-Africa

Alisha has developed complex experimental immunological studies which have led to several high-impact scientific contributions to the understanding of mucosal, reproductive and maternal immunity.

In remembrance: Tim Egan

Tim Egan, Jamison Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at UCT, affiliate member of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine, and CIDRI-Africa Contributing Investigator, passed away on Sunday 1 May after a short illness borne with great co

Dr Virginie Rozot joins CIDRI-Africa

Virginie was recently awarded a Wellcome Leap grant and is also a Research Officer at the South African TB Vaccine Initiative. She joins the Centre as a Principal Investigator.

T cells take the fight to Omicron

University of Cape Town (UCT) researchers led an important new study published on 31 January 2022 in the prestigious scientific journal Nature. The publication, titled “

Dr Ursula Rohlwink joins CIDRI-Africa

Ursula holds a Wellcome Trust International Intermediate Fellowship and is a member of the Neuroscience Institute at the University of Cape Town. She joins the Centre as a Contributing Investigator.

Scientific Leadership Prize for Graeme Meintjes

Professor Graeme Meintjes has been awarded the 2020 European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) Scientific Leadership Prize for his significant contribution to the improved understanding of HIV and its complications.

In remembrance: Siphokazi Hlungulu

It is with immense sadness that we inform you of the passing of our colleague, Ms Siphokazi Hlungulu (36), on Sunday, 14 November 2021.

Grant to boost bioimaging in Africa

Two groups at the University of Cape Town (UCT) have been awarded grants by the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) to expand access to and expertise in bioimaging and microscopy throughout Africa. These three-year grants will enable the Electron Microsco

T cells face off against variants to boost COVID-19 immunity

With the fight against COVID-19 beset with concerns around the efficacy of vaccines in the face of a mutating virus, University of Cape Town virologists have shown that the body’s T cells maintain 85% of their capacity to detect variants, continu

HIV infection may be driving drug resistance in tuberculosis

Results published today in The Lancet Microbe detail analysis of 10 years’ health data, showing a relationship between HIV infection and acquisition of rifampicin resistance by tuberculosis. Rifampicin is an important first-line anti-tub

SA launches COVID-19 vaccination drive

South Africa’s vaccination drive began on Wednesday, 17 February 2021, at the Khayelitsha Hospital, with President Cyril Ramaphosa, Minister of Health Dr Zweli Mkhize and various frontline healthcare workers among the first to receive t

Professor Keertan Dheda joins CIDRI-Africa

Keertan is Head of the Division of Pulmonology in the Faculty of Health Sciences and leads the Centre for Lung Infection and Immunity, which is a UCT accredited centre with its clinical profiling facilities based at the University of Cape Town Lung Ins

In remembrance: Viwe Mgudlwa

It is with deep sadness that we write to share with you the news of the death of our colleague Ms Viwe Mgudlwa on Thursday, 24 December 2020. Ms Mgudlwa was in Engcobo, Eastern Cape, at the time of her sudden death.

UCT boasts three new African Academy of Sciences fellows

The African Academy of Sciences (AAS) has nominated three University of Cape Town (UCT) academics as 2019 fellows. The fellowships are awarded to scholars who have achieved academic excellence and have contributed to significant scientific advance