The UCT Division of Emergency Medicine was formed in 2001, at the same time as that of Stellenbosch University. Historically the two Divisions have worked closely together under the banner of Emergency Medicine Cape Town (EMCT).

EMCT is a joint venture between the two Universities and Western Cape Government: Health.  The specialty of Emergency Medicine became nationally recognised in 2003, with the College of Emergency Medicine (CEMSA) founded in 2004, and EMCT took the lead to become the first South African institution to offer a specialist exit degree in Emergency Medicine that same year. These are proving to be exciting times for emergency medicine in the region, and this speciality is fast becoming a vital foundation for health care in the Western Cape, South Africa and Africa.  Today the Division of Emergency Medicine at UCT offers several postgraduate degree options, including doctoral degrees.  It hosts the largest emergency medicine school in Africa and contributes significantly to the body of emergency medicine research produced on the continent.

At the UCT Division of Emergency Medicine, we aim to:

  • Increase the level of undergraduate emergency medicine training
  • Increase the number of emergency medicine specialists in South Africa
  • Drive postgraduate and research outputs in African and South African emergency care
  • Provide strategic support to Ministries, Universities and other stakeholders developing emergency care in Africa, including in training and research