Dr Kendall Brouard – Head (Full time)                                               .

Dr Brouard joined the Unit in June 2010 after spending time as a general gynaecologist at Somerset Hospital. Dr Brouard has comprehensive skills in Urogynaecology. She has broad skills in pelvic floor reconstructive surgery. In addition, she is a competent general gynaecological surgeon.  Dr Brouard is an excellent bedside and surgical tutor.  She is an expert in Urodynamics and assessment of complex pelvic floor disorders. She registered as a Urogynaecologist with the HPCSA in September 2020 under the “Grandfather clause”. Dr Brouard shares all the clinical and educational responsibilities on the unit with Lamees Ras.

Dr Lamees Ras – Consultant (Full time)

Dr Lamees Ras was the first Urogynaecology Fellow that trained at the unit. She completed her training and qualified as a Urogynaecologist in 2018.She has a keen interest in pelvic floor reconstructive surgery as well as minimally invasive surgery. She also has a keen interest in research and plans to make considerable contributions to research in the field. She is actively involved in teaching students, elective students and registrars and provides assistance with their research projects.

Dr Akhona Kama – Fellow (full time)

Dr Kama is a specialist Obstetrics and Gynaecology consultant who is currently undergoing sub-speciality training in Urogynaecology at UCT. She has taken 2 years out of the full-time consultant appointment in the Eastern Cape to complete her training in Cape Town. She plans to return to the Eastern Cape on completion of their studies. There she will teach colleagues skills in pelvic floor surgery and provide the patients with a service that was previously not available.

Dr Allison Moore – Fellow (full time)

Dr Moore is a specialist consultant Urologist who is currently undergoing sub-speciality training in Urogynaecology at UCT. She will be the first Urology candidate to write the College of Medicine Urogynaecology sub-speciality exam in 2022.

Ms Lindsay Wallace and Ms Lauren Lauren Ellis

Lindsay Wallace and Lauren Ellis both work in full time private practice as a Women’s Health Physiotherapist in Cape Town. They have dedicated their time on a Wednesday midmorning to our unit. They both have excellent skills and experience in the assessment and treatment of pelvic floor disorders, including pelvic organ prolapse, urinary and anal incontinence and chronic pelvic pain syndromes

Prof Lisa Kaestner

Prof Lisa Kaestner is a specialist Urologist and Urogynaecologist at the University of Cape Town. Prof Kaestner is involved in teaching registrars and fellows in our multidisciplinary female continence clinic. She is also provides teaching and training in theatre specifically for cases of genitourinary fistulas and urethral diverticulity.

Dr Helena Nashandi

Dr Helena Nashandi is sessional consultant and runs our outpatient hysteroscopy service and in actively involved in undergraduate student teaching

Dr Khumbo Jere

Dr Khumbo Jere is Honorary Senior lecturer. Dr Jere is the Head of the Urogynaecology unit at the University of Stellenbosch. He is actively involved in subspecialist teaching and exam preparation as well as research collaboration.

Dr Dakalo Muavha

Dr Dakalo Muavha is Honorary senior lecturer. Dr Muavha is the Head of the Urogynaecology Unit at the University of Limpopo. He is actively involved in subspecialist teaching and exam preparation as well as research collaboration.


Prof Jan-Paul Roovers

Prof Jan-Paul Roovers is a professor of Gynaecology, specialising in Urogynaecology, at the University of Amsterdam's Faculty of Medicine (AMC-UvA). He also has the post of Honorary Lecturer at UCT. He has published extensively in academic journals such as the British Medical Journal, the Lancet and the New England Journal of Medicine. Roovers chairs the Board of Studies of the International Urogynaecological Association, the committee responsible for issuing guidelines on the multidisciplinary approach to pelvic organ prolapse, and the Academic Committee of the European Urogynaecological Association.

Dr Rafique Parkar

Dr Parkar is a Minimal Access Gynaecological Surgeon working at the International Centre for Minimal Access Surgery in Nairobi, Kenya. He has the post of Honorary Lecturer at UCT. He is an excellent surgeon and teacher. He visits our unit 4 to 5 times a year for a week at a time to up skill us in laparoscopic surgery. These visits have been taking place since late 2009 and have proven exceptionally beneficial to us and to the other gynaecology firms.

Dr Catherine Matthews

Dr Matthews is a currently Head of the Division of Urogynaecology at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA.  She is an Honorary Associate Professor at UCT. She is a pioneer of the robotic technique for sacrocolpopexy. When she visits Cape Town, she is involved in lectures to the registrars and consultants. She is also a highly skilled surgeon and has been mentored us in the laparoscopic approach to pelvic organ prolapse.